The 23rd USTA Nielsen $50,000 Challenger Men’s Pro Tennis Championship will take place on July 5th- July 11th at the A.C. Nielsen Tennis Center in Winnetka, Illinois. This is the only Men’s professional tennis tournament in the Chicago area. The first Challenger tournament took place in Winnetka in 1984, and over the years has featured players who have risen to the peak of the world tennis rankings. Former top professionals such as Lleyton, Hewitt, John McEnroe, Pete Sampras, Todd Martin, Luke Jensen have all played in Winnetka. Current highly ranked tour players we have hosted include Rajeev Ram, Sam Querry, Michael Russell, Jack Sock, and our 2011 singles champion, James Blake.

The net proceeds from the tournament continue to support the North Suburban Special Recreation Association (NSSRA), an intergovernmental partnership of ten park districts, two cities and one village in the northern suburban area of Chicago. NSSRA provides and facilitates year-round recreation programs and services for children and adults with disabilities who live in the partner communities.

This tournament could not take place without the generous financial support of our sponsors, and the commitment of hundreds of community members who volunteer at the tournament, provide housing for players, and serve as ball kids.

Below is a history of the singles and doubles tournament winners and runners up.


Year Champion Runner-up Score
1984 United States Marc Flur United States Mike Leach 6–3, 6–4
1985 South Africa Barry Moir United States Harold Solomon 2–6, 7–5, 6–2
1986 not held
1987 Australia Simon Youl Argentina Roberto Saad 5–7, 7–6, 6–3
1988 United States Jeff Tarango Italy Gianluca Pozzi 7–5, 5–7, 6–2
1989 United States Brian Garrow United States Todd Martin 6–4, 6–2
1990 Italy Cristiano Caratti United States Chris Garner 7–6, 6–1
1991 Zimbabwe Byron Black United States Todd Martin 6–4, 4–6, 6–2
1992 United States Chuck Adams United States Steve Bryan 6–4, 6–4
1993 Zimbabwe Kevin Ullyett Venezuela Maurice Ruah 6–3, 6–2
1994 United States Vince Spadea Italy Cristiano Caratti 6–1, 4–6, 7–5
1995-96 not held
1997 Italy Gianluca Pozzi Zimbabwe Wayne Black 6–4, 6–2
1998 United States Geoff Grant Italy Diego Nargiso 5–7, 6–3, 7–5
1999 United States Alex O’Brien Belarus Max Mirnyi 6–2, 6–2
2000 Japan Takao Suzuki South Korea Yoon Yong-Il 6–2, 6–4
2001-05 not held
2006 United States Sam Querrey Italy Andrea Stoppini 6–2, 6–3
2007 Israel Noam Okun South Africa Kevin Anderson 6–4, 6–3
2008 United States Rajeev Ram United States Scoville Jenkins 7–5, 6–4
2009 United States Alex Kuznetsov United States Tim Smyczek 6–4, 7–6(1)
2010 Argentina Brian Dabul United States Tim Smyczek 6–1, 1–6, 6–1
2011 United States James Blake United States Bobby Reynolds 6–3, 6–1
2012 Australia John-Patrick Smith Lithuania Ričardas Berankis 3–6, 6–3, 7–6(7–3)


Year Champion Runner-up Score
1984 United States Dan Goldie
United States Michael Kures
Chile Ricardo Acuña
Chile Belus Prajoux
3–6, 6–4, 7–5
1985 United States Ricky Brown
United States Luke Jensen
New Zealand Kelly Evernden
South Africa Brian Levine
6–4, 6–7, 6–4
1986 not held
1987 Sweden Tobias Svantesson
United States Jon Treml
South Africa Pieter Aldrich
South Africa Warren Green
6–3, 6–4
1988 Chile Ricardo Acuna
South Africa Royce Deppe
United States Jared Palmer
United States Pete Sampras
6–4, 6–4
1989 Sweden Ville Jansson
United States Scott Warner
United States Bill Benjes
United States Arthur Engle
6–7, 6–4, 6–4
1990 India Zeeshan Ali
Netherlands Menno Oosting
United States Doug Flach
Mexico Luis Herrera
4–6, 6–3, 6–2
1991 Zimbabwe Byron Black
United States Scott Melville
United States Keith Evans
United States Dave Randall
6–4, 4–6, 6–2
1992 Australia Andrew Kratzmann
Australia Roger Rasheed
United States Rick Witsken
United States Todd Witsken
6–3, 3–6, 6–3
1993 Australia Wayne Arthurs
United Kingdom Mark Petchey
Australia Pat Rafter
Australia Sandon Stolle
7–6, 6–7, 6–4
1994 United States Brian MacPhie
United States David Witt
United States Doug Flach
United States Wade McGuire
7–5, 6–2
1995-96 not held
1997 United States Michael Sell
South Africa Myles Wakefield
United States Chad Clark
Australia Ben Ellwood
6–3, 7–6
1998 Australia Grant Silcock
South Africa Myles Wakefield
United States Geoff Grant
United States Mark Merklein
1–6, 7–6, 7–6
1999 United States James Blake
United States Thomas Blake
Belarus Max Mirnyi
United States Alexander Reichel
6–4, 6–7, 6–3
2000 South Korea Lee Hyung-taik
South Korea Yoon Yong-il
Australia Matthew Breen
Australia Luke Smith
2–6, 7–5, 6–3
2001-05 not held
2006 United States Cecil Mamiit
United States Eric Taino
United States Scoville Jenkins
United States Rajeev Ram
6–2, 6–4
2007 United States Patrick Briaud
United States Chris Drake
United States Nicholas Monroe
South Africa Izak van der Merwe
7–6, 6–4
2008 United States Todd Widom
United States Michael Yani
Chinese Taipei Chen Ti
New Zealand Jose Statham
6–2, 6–2
2009 Australia Carsten Ball
United States Travis Rettenmaier
United States Brett Joelson
United States Ryan Sweeting
6–1, 6–2
2010 United States Ryler DeHeart
Canada Pierre-Ludovic Duclos
South Africa Rik de Voest
India Somdev Devvarman
7–6(4), 4–6, [10–8]
2011 Philippines Treat Conrad Huey
United States Bobby Reynolds
Australia Jordan Kerr
United States Travis Parrott
7–6(9–7), 6–4
2012 United States Devin Britton
United States Jeff Dadamo
Australia John Peers
Australia John-Patrick Smith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s